Additional Information

Self/Peer Exploitation: What Parents of Teens Need to Know

As a parent, it can be difficult to receive the news that your child has been involved in a self/peer exploitation (also known as “sexting”) incident. Self/peer exploitation is generally defined as youth creating, sending or sharing sexual images and/or videos with peers online or through electronic devices (e.g., texting, messaging apps, social networking sites).

If your child has been involved in a self/peer exploitation incident, you are likely feeling a wide range of emotions. This may include embarrassment, shame, anger, and a certain degree of vulnerability and uncertainty about what may happen next. Rest assured, it is completely normal to be feeling these things and more.

Reasons why teens may become involved in a self/peer exploitation incident will vary, as will the impact of the incident on the teen. Some teens may feel embarrassed and extremely vulnerable, however others (including the teen whose image has been taken and/or distributed as well as the teen who has taken and/or distributed an image/video of someone else) may appear unconcerned, and seem to not fully appreciate the potential damage that such content and behaviour may have caused or what it might mean in the future.

What should parents know about this issue?

  • Be aware that teens do not typically share experiences they are embarrassed or ashamed of with their parents – don’t assume you would know if there was a problem.
  • Teens will make errors in judgment – it is all a part of growing up. When a teen does make a mistake, use this as an opportunity for them to learn and grow. Encourage them to separate the error in judgment from how they define themself.
  • The circulation of sexual images/videos among peers and their distribution online can have short- and long-term impacts. The effects will vary according to a teen’s personality, temperament, available support systems and resiliency.
It is very important that you monitor interactions between your child and their peers following a self/peer exploitation incident. They may be targeted by peers and subjected to verbal, and in some cases, physical bullying or harassment as well as alienation. In some instances, this can leave your child feeling isolated, shamed, helpless or humiliated. Take any threat of self-harm seriously and immediately seek professional help.

Conversations to have with your teen:

  1. Discuss the difference between healthy relationships (i.e., loving, respectful, caring) and unhealthy relationships (i.e., manipulative, intimidating, pressuring). Remind your teen that pressure from a boyfriend/girlfriend to engage in sexual conversations or share sexual images/videos does not constitute a caring relationship.
  2. Explain the importance of establishing and respecting personal boundaries when using technology. Both the information your teen has shared and the information others have shared with your teen should be protected and handled with respect (e.g., not shared with others). Emphasize that this continues to apply once a relationship has come to an end.
  3. Discuss the types of problems that may arise from sharing private and intimate information electronically, including images and videos. Once information is sent, it can be easily misused. This may include the recipient showing it to friends, sending or posting it online or using it to manipulate the other person, for example, to engage in further sexual activity.
  4. Teach your adolescent that it is illegal to distribute an intimate image of someone without their consent.
To help parents manage this social challenge, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (through its Cybertip.ca program) has created a resource guide for families. For more information, please visit cybertip.ca/self_peer_exploitation.

The tips and other information provided herein is intended as general information only, not as advice. Readers should assess all information in light of their own circumstances, the age and maturity level of the child they wish to protect and any other relevant factors.

Information complémentaire

Autoexploitation juvénile — Ce que les parents d’ados doivent savoir

Comme parent, il peut être difficile d’apprendre que son enfant est impliqué dans un incident d’autoexploitation juvénile (aussi appelé « sextage »). L’autoexploitation juvénile se définit généralement comme le fait, pour une jeune personne, de créer et de transmettre ou de partager avec d’autres jeunes des photos/vidéos à caractère sexuel à l’aide d’Internet ou d’appareils électroniques (textos, messagerie instantanée, sites de réseaux sociaux, etc.).

Si votre enfant est impliqué dans un incident d’autoexploitation juvénile, vous vivez sans doute des émotions de toutes sortes : gêne, honte, colère, une certaine vulnérabilité ou de l’incertitude quant à la suite des choses. Rassurez-vous : il est tout à fait normal de vous sentir ainsi.

Les motivations des ados qui se retrouvent impliqués dans un incident d’autoexploitation juvénile sont multiples, tout comme les répercussions que l’incident aura sur eux. Certains ados se sentiront mal à l’aise et extrêmement vulnérables, tandis que d’autres (notamment l’ado dont la photo a été prise ou diffusée, ou celui qui a pris ou fait circuler la photo ou la vidéo de quelqu’un d’autre) se retrancheront dans une apparente indifférence et auront l’air de ne pas se rendre vraiment compte du préjudice que les images ou les agissements en question peuvent avoir causé, ou encore des conséquences à long terme de la situation.

Ce qu’il faut savoir sur cette problématique

  • Sachez que les ados ne racontent généralement pas à leurs parents les expériences dont ils sont gênés ou dont ils ont honte; ne tenez pas pour acquis que vous seriez mis au courant s’il y avait un problème.
  • C’est normal que les ados fassent des erreurs de jugement; cela fait partie de leur apprentissage. Lorsqu’un ado fait une erreur, faites en sorte qu’il en tire une leçon et encouragez-le à faire la distinction entre l’erreur de jugement et l’image qu’il se fait de lui-même.
  • La circulation de photos ou de vidéos à caractère sexuel entre les jeunes et leur diffusion dans l’espace numérique peut avoir des répercussions à court et à long terme. Ces répercussions dépendront de la personnalité de l’ado, de son tempérament, des réseaux de soutien auxquels il a accès et de sa résilience.
Il est très important de surveiller les interactions entre votre enfant et ses pairs après un incident d’autoexploitation juvénile. Votre enfant pourrait être pris à partie par ses pairs et subir de l’intimidation ou du harcèlement verbal, voire physique, et se faire rejeter. Chez certains, ces incidents provoquent des sentiments d’isolement, de honte, d’impuissance et d’humiliation. Si votre enfant menace de se faire du mal, prenez la chose au sérieux et demandez aussitôt une aide professionnelle.

Conversations à avoir avec votre ado :

  1. Parlez à votre ado de la différence entre une relation saine (où il y a de l’amour, du respect, de l’affection) et une relation malsaine (où il y a de la manipulation, de l’intimidation, des pressions). Rappelez à votre ado que, dans une relation saine, personne n’a pas à subir de pression venant de l’autre pour s’engager dans des conversations sexuellement explicites ou partager des images à caractère sexuel.
  2. Expliquez-lui l’importance de mettre ses limites et de respecter celles des autres dans l’espace numérique. Les informations à caractère personnel que votre ado partage et celles que d’autres partagent avec lui doivent être protégées et traitées avec respect (elles ne doivent pas être dévoilées à d’autres). Faites valoir que ce principe continue de s’appliquer après la fin d’une relation.
  3. Parlez-lui des problèmes qui peuvent arriver lorsqu’on partage des informations à caractère personnel ou intime, y compris des photos ou des vidéos, dans l’espace numérique. Une fois transmises, ces informations peuvent facilement être utilisées de façon malavisée. Le destinataire pourrait les montrer à ses amis, les retransmettre ou les publier sur Internet, ou s’en servir pour manipuler l’autre personne et la contraindre, par exemple, à se livrer à d’autres activités sexuelles.
  4. Expliquez à votre ado qu’il est illégal de diffuser une image intime de quelqu’un sans son consentement.
Pour aider les parents à faire face à ce problème social grandissant, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (par l’entremise de son programme Cyberaide.ca) a produit un Guide pour les familles. Pour en savoir davantage, cliquez cybertip.ca/autoexploitation_juvenile.

Les conseils de sécurité et autres renseignements fournis dans le présent article n’ont d’autre but que d’informer le lecteur, non de le conseiller. Il revient au lecteur d’en évaluer le contenu en fonction de sa propre réalité, de l’âge et du degré de maturité de l’enfant à protéger et de tout autre élément pertinent.